Category Archives: alt-history

WOUNDED MAGUS – Journals of Natta Magus Book III

Natta Magus watched Helva, the granddaughter of Cleopatra, literally leap into hell to save him and Augustan Rome from annihilation.

The least he could do was bust her out. His twenty-first century honor would accept nothing less.

So along with Cana, a slave-turned-magi apprentice, and Paetus, his self-appointed chronicler, Natta sets off for Alexandria, Egypt, where he hopes to find a way into the Egyptian underworld to rescue Helva.

But his ship is attacked and sunk along the North African coast, bringing him face-to-face with a former adversary who has somehow gone from every day, first-century human to magical demigod. And not only that, the adversary wants Natta’s help in bringing about a magical apocalypse that will change the world and the history he knows.

Natta has to fight his way through pirates, daemonic hordes, and his own dark temptations to not only stop the apocalypse, but save Helva from the Torture Goddess herself.

Just another day for him in the Roman Empire.

WOUNDED MAGUS is the sequel to SHADOW MAGUS, and book three in the Journals of Natta Magus series, by the author of the Roman sci-fi/alt-history Codex Antonius saga.

NATTA MAGUS – Journals of Natta Magus Book IV

Natta Magus has a chance to do the one thing he’s wanted since he got stuck in ancient Rome: Go back home to 21st century Detroit.

But there’s a catch. He must do one last job for Octavian Caesar Augustus. The same tyrant a-hole who had him kidnapped from Carthage where he was celebrating with his friends and new girlfriend, Helva Ptolemy. A rogue Roman agent is accumulating magical weapons from the 21st century to overthrow Augustus and start a new Roman civil war. Augustus wants Natta to guide a team of Praetorians into modern Detroit and bring the traitor back to Rome for justice.

If Natta refuses, he never gets the chance to go home, and Rome descends into a brutal civil war fought with 21st century magic. If he accepts, he can go home…but he’ll never again see the people in Rome he’s come to love.

In the final chapter of the Journals of Natta Magus series, Natta must decide where he truly belongs.


Remington Blakes, a magus from an alternate 21st century where magic powers the world, has a big problem. His former mentor, William Pingree Ford, stranded him in ancient Rome without a memory as to how or why. Well a guy has to eat, so he takes on the name “Natta Magus”, which means something like “Artisanal Wizard” in Latin, and ekes out a living as a magus-for-hire among Rome’s plebeians.

As Rome’s only practicing magus, Natta’s adventures take him from the Eternal City’s brutal arenas to the wilds of Germania to a diminished Carthage. All the while he searches for a way back home to the 21st century.

Now you can get all four volumes in the complete Journals of Natta Magus series (CITIZEN MAGUS, SHADOW MAGUS, WOUNDED MAGUS, and NATTA MAGUS) in one low-priced ebook.

MUSES OF ROMA – Codex Antonius Book I

All starways lead to Roma…

Marcus Antonius Primus began a golden age for humanity when he liberated Roma from Octavian Caesar and became sole Consul. With wisdom from the gods, future Antonii Consuls conquered the world and spawned an interstellar civilization.

It’s three weeks before the millennial anniversary of the Antonii Ascension. Kaeso Aemelius, star freighter captain and a blacklisted spy from a Roman rival world, misses his lone-wolf espionage days. So when his former prefect asks him to help a Roman official defect, Kaeso sees it as a way back into his old agency. But can Kaeso protect his crew of outcasts from unseen forces who would lay waste to entire worlds to stop the defector from revealing a civilization-shattering truth?

An exciting start to a series for fans of space opera and Roman alternate history.

MUSES OF TERRA – Codex Antonius Book II

“You can’t outrun your responsibilities. They’ll catch you and tackle you to the ground.”

Marcus Antonius Cordus thought he left his past behind when he escaped Terra six years ago. All he wants is to explore the universe with his mercenary friends and stay far away from Roman politics.

But the unseen alien Muses have different plans. Cordus begins to see ghosts from the past and hears voices when no one is near. Like his Antonii ancestors, he fears his mind is slipping. If he loses control, he will become a slave to Muse plans to dominate humanity. Or worse: banishment from the mercenary family who loved him when no one else would.

So when a new Muse strain invades Roman space, Cordus must choose between the freedom he’s always wanted and stopping the apocalypse that he was born to prevent.

MUSES OF TERRA is book two of the Codex Antonius and sequel to the exciting sci-fi/alternate history novel MUSES OF ROMA.


“Sometimes the best consuls don’t want to be consul.”

Having saved Terra from annihilation, Marcus Antonius Cordus is awarded something he fought his whole life to avoid: Consulship of the Roman Republic.

His only joy comes from his secret relationship with his Praetorian Prefect, Aquilina Servilia, the woman who coaxed him out of hiding to save Terra. But her quest for vengeance on the factions that murdered her mother could prompt another Roman civil war.

So when he learns the alien Muses are now influencing the Zhonguo Sphere’s emperor, Cordus jumps at the chance to leave the viper pit of Roman politics. Faced with imminent invasion, he leads a team of Praetorians, rogues, and Zhonguo defectors to the Muse homeworld to destroy the Muse strains once and for all.

But the Muses have plans of their own, and their carefully laid traps ensnare Cordus at every turn. Can he save the Republic when the Muses force him to choose between his duty as Consul, his loyalty to his friends, and his love for Aquilina?

MUSES OF THE REPUBLIC is the exciting sequel to the sci-fi/alternate history MUSES OF TERRA and the final chapter in the Codex Antonius series.

CODEX ANTONIUS – 3-in-1 Ebook

In an alternate universe where Rome spawned a galactic empire, a misfit crew fights to free humanity from a ruthless alien intelligence. Now you can get all three volumes in the Codex Antonius series (MUSES OF ROMA, MUSES OF TERRA, and MUSES OF THE REPUBLIC) in one low-priced ebook.